U.S., Mexico announce joint bid for 2027 WWC

The United States and Mexico plan to bid to co-host the 2027 Women’s World Cup, the two countries’ federations announced Wednesday.

The announcement came on the final day that FIFA said it would accept submissions for expressions of interest. Bid agreements are due by May 19 and official bids by Dec. 8. FIFA plans to publish an evaluation report in May 2024 ahead of a vote by FIFA’s Congress that May 17.

“The United States has always been a global leader for the women’s game, and we would be honoured to co-host the world’s premier event for women’s soccer along with Mexico,” said USSF President Cindy Parlow Cone.

FMF President Yon De Luisa added: “Women’s football in Mexico has experienced sustained growth over the last five years and its development is one of the strategic priorities of the FMF.”

South Africa has announced a bid, and Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands have announced a joint bid. Brazil’s sports minister has said that nation will bid.

The U.S. hosted the tournament in 1991 and 1999. The Americans are four-time champions, winning in 1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019.

Australia and New Zealand are co-hosts of this year’s tournament, to be played from July 20 to Aug. 20.

The U.S., Mexico and Canada are co-hosts of the men’s World Cup in 2026. The U.S. hosted in 1994, and Mexico hosted in 1970 and 1986.

Articles You May Like

Jaguar recalls all I-Pace EVs over battery fire risk, a year after we warned them about it
‘I love guarantees’: Bills’ Miller (ACL) targets W1
Will Fiat bringing its top-selling EV to the US make it cool again?
USA’s Knight is 1st IIHF Female Player of Year
West Ham 7s walk off at TST after alleged slur