Four more countries to be added to England’s travel ‘red list’ next week

Pakistan, Kenya, Bangladesh and the Philippines have been added to England’s coronavirus red list.

The move, which will take effect from 4am on Friday, 9 April, is in response to concerns about new variants of COVID-19, like those first detected in South Africa and Brazil.

It means international visitors who have departed from or transited through those nations in the previous 10 days will be barred from entering.

British and Irish citizens and those with residence rights in the UK will be allowed to enter, but will have to arrive at a designated port and then pay to stay in a government-approved quarantine hotel for 10 days.

Articles You May Like

Era of cheap supermarket fuel has ‘gone’ as chains battle rising costs
MP planning to bring forward legislation that could see Harry and Meghan stripped of royal titles
Microsoft says it will bring Call of Duty to Nintendo for 10 years if Activision deal closes
Sam Bankman-Fried could face years in prison over FTX’s $32 billion meltdown — if the U.S. ever gets around to arresting him
Celebrity lawyer and former Trump foe gets 14 more years in prison